by Olivia Porath

Not What It Seemed

When I was young I used to dream

That my family was normal and stuck like glue

That things were more than what they seemed

.

I’d hope someday that they would see

How my scars inside were not so few

When I was young I used to dream

.

More often than not I’d want to scream

Or just tell a person, anyone, someone like you

That things were more than what they seemed

.

But I sat idly, for they were my bloodstream

And trouble would come if I told the truth

When I was young I used to dream

.

Even though rare moments of hope would gleam

I knew our days of darkness weren’t through

That things were more than what they seemed

.

That sadness and suffering was the theme

Though I never chanced it by giving clues

When I was young I used to dream

That things were more than what they seemed

Leave a Reply

